Balthasar Neumann Choir

Formed in 1991 by Thomas Hengelbrock, the Balthasar Neumann Choir is defined by a deep passion for music, the highest artistic quality and an irrepressible joy in singing. With great success, the vocal ensemble repeatedly sets out on musical treasure hunts, surprises with spectacular interpretations, and creates magical moments for an international audience.

Our singers, all of whom are also active as soloists, come together from all over the world to blend their voices into the unique sound of the Balthasar Neumann Choir. Intensive rehearsals and a profound examination of compositions and their creators are just as important as living, eating and travelling together to the various residences in creating the unique quality of our choir, in which each singer can contribute and develop individually.

Hans Wijers
Annemei Blessing-Leyhausen
Irina Makarova
Andreas Werner
Mirko Ludwig
Hanna Roos
Eva Summerer
Anja Bittner
Christine Süssmuth
Ulfried Staber
Jane Tiik
Dorothee Wohlgemuth
Karim-Elias Mayer
Anna Wierod
Alina Godunov
Friedemann Klos
Kerstin Dietl
Fabian Kelly
Helena Poczykowska
Christian Rathgeber
Thomas Koell
Tobias Schlierf
Anna Terterjan
Jo Holzwarth
Anne Bierwirth
Christoph Hülsmann
Ute Weitkaemper
Nino Gmünder
Ralf Ernst
Petra Ehrismann
Raimonds Spogis
Alice Borciani
Andrey Akhmetov
Wolfgang Frisch
Bartek Lossy
Clemence Faber
Karin Gyllenhammar

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video


Here you can find insights & impressions from our musicians: Starting with Christine, giving an insight on what singing in the Balthasar Neumann Choir means to her.

Artistic Board Choir

Anne Bierwirth / Alto, Germany
Detlef Bratschke / Choir Director, Germany
Jakob Pilgram / Tenor, Switzerland
Dorothee Wohlgemuth / Alto, Germany


The Balthasar Neumann Choir holds annual auditions for all vocal subjects. You are welcome to apply for this. Please send your application with your CV and audio material (several works from different epochs as a link or audio file) to Raphaela Dörfer: