Of all orchestras invited to the 2020 edition of the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, the Balthasar Neumann Ensemble is the only one that was actually able to play a concert on place! It was wonderful  to be finally rehearsing together and to playing a concert in the beautiful Théâtre de l’Archevêché under the summerly sky of Southern France. The concert was broadcasted on 10 July and the video is still available in the media library by arte and on the website of the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence.



Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 5 c minor op. 67
“Ah! Perfido” op. 65, scene and aria for soprano and orchestra

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
“Smanie implacabili” (Dorabella) from: Così fan tutte KV 588
“Il mio tesoro” (Don Ottavio) from: Don Giovanni KV 527
“Un aura amorosa” (Ferrando) from: Così fan tutte KV 588
“Fra gli amplessi” (Fiordiligi & Ferrando) from: Così fan tutte KV 588

Véronique Gens Soprano
Stanislas de Barbeyrac Tenor
Balthasar Neumann Ensemble
Thomas Hengelbrock Direction